The South Island Royals, formally known as the South Island Thunderbirds, are entering into their 12th season in the BC Major Midget League. Established in 2004, the BC Major Midget League provides 15, 16 and 17-year-old players elite calibre hockey in order to develop high-level athletes for future participation in the junior or college hockey ranks. The league consists of 11 teams scattered throughout the province of British Columbia reaching as far north as Prince George and east towards the Kootenays. The Royals will play a 40 game regular season schedule (20 home games and 20 road games) with the top eight teams from the regular season advancing to the playoffs. The winner of the BC Major Midget League will advance to play the Alberta Midget AAA winner for the right to compete in the Telus Cup National Midget Championship.

Watch the Royals Live  >>